The Chennai Super Kings popularly known as CSK is a franchise cricket team based in Chennai, Tamil Nadu. It is one of the most popular IPL team. The team has won 3 championships and is third overall to tie Mumbai Indians for the most wins in the IPL.

Chennai Super Kings Details

In January 2008, the BCCI unveiled the owners of the eight city-based franchises, and Chennai Super Kings has been sold to the Indian Cements for $91 million, making it the fourth most expensive team in the league. The team has a theme song popularly known as Whistle Podu written by Aravind Shankar.

The Chennai Super Kings are one of the most consistent teams in IPL which has left unbeaten despite the two years ban in 2016, 2017 seasons. The team has lifted the IPL title thrice in 2010, 2011 as well as 2018, and has one of the best win percentages among all teams in the IPL.

However, the team has been suspended for two years for spot-fixing controversy in the year 2013. Still, it has reached playoffs every single year played season. The CSK or Chennai Super Kings was rated as the Most Valuable Team in the Indian Premier League in 2010 and 2011, with a brand value of $100 million that is approximately rupees 2.24 Billion.

Currently, Chennai Super Kings is acquired by India Cements for ten years. The former ICC Chairman N. Srinivasan was the de-facto owner of the CSK team. The franchise was later transferred to the separate entity named Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd. The current Chief Executive Officer(CEO) of the Chennai Super Kings is K.S. Viswanathan.

The IPL cricket franchise Chennai Super Kings have signed up with Equitas Bank as a principal sponsor for their return to the powerhouse Twenty20 tournament. Some other sponsors of CSK are Muthoot Group which is current shirt sponsor, Golf Oil, HIL, Nippon Paint, Parle Agro Frooti and Atria Convergence Technologies.

Chennai Super Kings Squad for 2019

The dedicated Chennai Super Kings Squad for 2019 are as follows:

1. MS Dhoni - Captain/Keeper

2. KM Asif - Bowler

3. Sam Billings - Wicketkeeper Batsman

4. Chaitanya Bishnoi - Batting Allrounder

5. Dwayne Bravo - Allrounder

6. Deepak Chahar - Bowler

7. Faf du Plessis - Middle-order Batsman

8. Ruturaj Gaikwad - Right-hand Batsman

9. Harbhajan Singh - Bowler

10. Imran Tahir - Bowler

11. Ravindra Jadeja - Allrounder

12. Kedar Jadhav - Right-hand Batsman

13. Monu Kumar - Bowling Allrounder

14. Lungi Nidi - Bowler

15. Suresh Raina - Left Hand Batsman

16. Ambati Rayudu - Right Hand Batsman

17. Mitchell Santner - Left Hand Batsman

18. Karn Sharma - Bowler

19. Shardul Thakur - Bowler

20. Murali Vijay - Right Hand Batsman

21. Shane Watson - Allrounder

22. David Willey - Allrounder

Chennai Super Kings Team Details

Ahead of the players mega-auction, the Chennai Super Kings retained Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Suresh Raina as well as Ravindra Jadeja. The franchise also keeps Far du Plessis and Dwayne Bravo using RTM.

Now when we talk about the team wins the Chennai Super Kings is the only team to defeat an opposing team Sunrisers Hyderabad four times in a single season. Three of the five centuries scored in the IPL 2018 by players who belong to the Chennai Super Kings players. The role players of the team are the reason why CSK is the most successful IPL team in the League.

The primary concern for the last edition of IPL was the bowling unit’s poor performance; however, they will try to improve this season. The team has already ready with the squad before the IPL Auction. Furthermore, the CSK have a well balanced and stable squad, but they will still going to miss out some of its talented players because of the upcoming World Cup.

The unavailability of the overseas players might prove to be a set back for them to retain their trophy. However, looking to the records of the team, they will surely be going to qualify for the playoffs.